Hatha Yoga

Classical hatha yoga has five limbs

  1. Shatkarma, (the six purification or cleansing practices)
  2. Asana (for steadiness)
  3. Pranayama
  4. Mudras and
  5. Bandhas


The first is shatkarma, the six purificatory or cleansing practices. These are neti, dhauti, basti, nauli, kapalbhati and trataka. The first three purify at the gross physical level, and the last three at subtler pranic and mental levels.

About Sc. Lalit Vishwabandhu


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.